Amici

Amici Tomas Morato

Bellagio Square, Tomas Morato cor Sct. Fuentebella South Triangle, Quezon City Metro Manila Philippines (02) 376-6458
Amici 2.90909090909091 5 12 1
Bonnie Macam

Bonnie Macam was here

4

3 months ago

Hitman77

wrote a review

Amici I like!

4

I'm a big fan of their Gelato and Pasta, especially their Spaghetti Al Pomodoro and Cannelloni Agli Spinaci.

3 years ago

twinklestar

wrote a review

Aglio Olio Soup??

3

I visit Amici all the time for their Penne al Salmone. I have always been a fan becuase their Salmon pasta is served with the fish in huge chunks! I decided to have the Aglio Olio for a change (when I tried it at the North Edsa branch, I was very satisfied) It was served smoking hot but the pasta was soaked in water! It was awful! what happened??

3 years ago

tinapie

wrote a review

i'm loyal to amici.

4

i dont care if people say amici is not "authentic italian" or it lost its magic.. me and my family still goes there to eat every sunday (almost!). we never got tired of the food even if we order the same dishes:

spinach fusili montanara (yummy!!!!, satisfying!!!)
pomodor (just right!)
penne salmone (tasty!)
4 cheese pizza or tutta carne (both great!)

the service ok, the guards are very patient even if there are a lot of makulit people outside waiting for tables.. the guards should have a salary increase!! AMICI MANAGEMENT: give your guards bonuses this holday! hehe!

lastly, IT'S NOT EXPENSIVE!

4 years ago

MontyDean

wrote a review

Overrated!

2

I used to frequent Amici di Don Bosco at Pasay Rd back when it hasn't changed ownership yet. Under this new management that opened the Tomas Morato branch, the original menu was dramatically reduced. It has less variety now. It's one reason why Chef Giorgino left Amici.

Amici di Don Bosco in Makati also used to sell authentic Italian Gelato at an ice cream freezer booth near the 2/f entrance of Waltermart at "student-friendly" prices averaging about P20 per scoop. Now the "student-friendly" prices are gone, so for those who want to try, it will cost you more than double that now for a scoop!

Also, my old favorite at the original Amici - Pasta Montanara - now tastes rather different, kind of less tangy yet saltier, with less tomato and less cheese. So now I eat my Pasta Montanara at Chef Giorgino's new resto where he retains his old recipe.

Lastly, Amici now is a cost-cut mass-producing version of what it used to be under its original management. The current popularity of Amici at Tomas Morato is only because Amici is already very well-known by Makati frequenters. You could liken it to Starbucks where people tend to flock just because many others do, even if many other places serve similar products at similar quality and prices. Amici's canteen format represents no-frills, come-just-for-the-food mode of thinking. It's still worth a try because the prices are still fairly low, but since it's not the original Amici we old frequenters used to know, I can't say it's the best at pasta or pizza or gelato. Bellini's and Volare serve more sophisticated fare at similar prices (i.e., not outrageously expensive) with better ambience.

5 years ago

loveTOeat

wrote a review

i don't understand the hype

1

i certainly don't understand why people are raving about this place!
i don't mind the ambiance, as long as the food is good.... the price is not that cheap also... i mean if you compare it to other similar restos, you can get much more...
food is just so-so and i agree that they shouldn't claim that they're an "italian" resto, coz their food tastes nothing like authentic italian
there's valet parking... gelato is good, but pricey for a small scoop

5 years ago

giselle solco

wrote a review

amici is no friend to food lovers

1

fake italian. service was ok except for the cashier who forgot to give us a number so we kept on just patiently waiting for our food not knowing that its been sitting on their counter for awhile already since they didnt know who to serve it to. eventually approached cashier who was just right in front of where we sat to ask about our food. she didnt even say sorry. to top it off, the food was terrible. might as well have bought those instant pasta packets from the states.

5 years ago

elowcee

wrote a review

Another Pizza Pasta Place

3

This is my first time in Amici. I have heard much about it from my friends but I never expected the "canteen" ambience of it. It kinda put me off a bit.

I love pasta pizza places especially those who priced reasonably. Amici did not disappoint me with their price. It is kinda reasonable. They have big servings, to share with a friend or an SO.

Since this is my first time in Amici, I did not order Pizza or Pasta. I opted for 2 things:

- Spinach Fusili Montara: This is delicious and not too heavy. Kinda salty though. Price is 180.
- An appetizer i do not see now in the menu (my bad): mozarella cheese with tomato sauce is delicious. Not too heavy, just a light snack. Still good to share with 3 pieces laid out on the plate.
- Sanrival: Amazing the layers are soft different from it's Goldilocks' counterpart. The slice is too thin I think but if your not that hungry, can also be shared coz it has a lot of butter.

If you do not mind the canteen/cafeteria ambience then go for it. You can always ask someone to order for you and get the condiments, utensils and yes...take home a 1.5 liter excess of your favorite soda or juice drink. This I really find odd for a well made up place like Amici in T. Morato.

I will visit again to try the pasta and the pizza. :)

Ciao!

5 years ago

quicksilver

wrote a review

Best Pizza in QC

5

Amici, originally a canteen in Don Bosco Makati opened a branch in Morato. It continued to keep its canteen ambiance which enabled them to keep prices reasonable. Great pizza, really good gelato, pastas are alright. Family style eating. I eat there every week and recommend it to everyone.

5 years ago

KOS

wrote a review

Doesn't seem to fit being in Tomas Morato...

1

Tomas Morato is well known for fine restaurants, fast food chains... not canteens. The place is setup like one but people don't really need to go back to school to experience the good food supposedly well known with Amici in Pasong Tamo. One other thing is, the seafood pasta that's supposedly their specialty, doesn't taste so special.... ang 'lansa' ng lasa. I am never going back to that place again....

6 years ago

Darling715

wrote a review

I found the one...Best PIIIIZZZZAAAAA Place!!!!

I am a pizza & pasta lover. In short, I love Italian!!! I've been to many pizza parlor and pasta resto, I tried dining. I Went to back to some but aborted many. Just last night after me & my husband went to wake of our friend's papa, we decided to go somewhere before going home. Since we haven't eat dinner we thought of dining at the new pizza & pasta place at Tomas Morato. It's a good idea to visit the place on weekday since everytime we tried going there after sunday mass, you'll get shock with the waiting list. That's when I realized that it has something to offer that people goes back. We love the pizza! I ordered my fave Hawaiian and the #7 Pasta. The place is really nice, the usual Italian style...green, white & red. We also tasted the Gellato...wow! the Mango Jubillee and Bluebbery...as if you'll never want to get out till you ate the last scoop...YUMMY!!!

6 years ago

Abe Cipriano

wrote a review

finally, an Amici close to home

4

When my wife and I heard that Amici now had a branch in QC, we both thought AT LAST, it's closer to where we live now (neither of us work in Makati anymore so it's quite far and we have to wait weekends to visit Amici and eat our beloved Tutta Karne and Quattro Formaggi pizzas).

There were some elements of this Amici that were new and somewhat closer to a pizzeria (the warm colors, the overall feel which was less a cafeteria and more of a restaurant). But there were still things that remind me of the original Amici in Don Bosco (like the self-service ice with the pitchers and the ice shovel/scooper, the slightly cafeteria-ish feel of the chairs and tables, and the alaskador/smiling order-taker lady from the Don Bosco branch).

I think that even if they tweaked it a little bit, the concept works. It doesn't pretend to be a high end pizza/pasta place like CPK but there's a warmth and appropriate feel to it, given the type of food and the price... oh, man, the price. Great pizza for less than P300. Pastas around P200, this is a great place to experience authentic Italian food.

For those familiar with the Amici in Makati, then most of what you're familiar with is here, except for the cafeteria food (I'm gonna miss the Italian Sausage, the Buttered Prawns, and the BEST rice meal of Amici, Lechon Kawali). The BONUS is that it's open Sundays (Amici Don Bosco is not).

For those who've only heard of Amici but never tried, or never heard of it, let me tell you what you ought to try...

1. Pizza - Tutta Karne (all meat) and Quattro Formaggi (four cheese)
2. Pasta - White Vongole e Gamberetti (seafood pasta in olive oil)
3. Roast Chicken
4. Pasta - Pasta alla Pescatora (seafood in tomato)
5. GELATO!!!

If you must choose one type of food, it's gotta be the pizza. Not all of the pastas I ever ordered in Don Bosco Makati were memorable. You normally can't go wrong with their pizza.

Top off your tasty meal with their fantastic gelato. I personally love the Macapuno, but you ought to try their Blueberry and their new Sansrival... yummy...

For the money that you're shelling out, the food is certainly delicious, and it's a truly unique experience. They didn't get our tutta karne pizza to us on time the first time I went there, but they're generally fast in service. Once you try it, you'll want to come back for more.

Ciao!

6 years ago

Profile

Type
Italian Casual Dining
Budget
P300 - 500
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th: 11:00AM - 11:00PM
  • F, Sa, Su: 10:00AM - 12:00MN
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?
On The VIP Menu