Mamou

Mamou Serendra

Serendra, 26th St Fort Bonifacio, Taguig Metro Manila Philippines (02) 856-3569
Mamou 3.4 5 15 0
Trudis Wudis

wrote a review

A brand of service you wont easily forget!

3

Ive been to Mamou's 4 times already, and I would give the waiters and staff 6 stars If I could. Once a waiter advised me against ordering pasts because it would be too heavy with my order of roast pork and chicken. So i opted for dessert instead. True enough by the time I finished my meal, my tummy was bursting at the seams and I would have ended hating the pasta for it. While in some restaurants, servers are clueless with the food they serve, at Mamou's it felt like my dining experience was far more important than the profits theyd earn. I am so pleased with their service that I couldnt help thank Mamou herself when I left.

2 years ago

kate77

wrote a review

spell pricey

2

we had the chicken and pork platter - served cold, by the way. i don't understand the hype this place created. i'll go to the place next door anytime.

3 years ago

ish

wrote a review

the tale of the steak and the steak nazi.

2

I blogged my full review here: http://1belle.tumblr.com/post/934379574/restaurant-mamou-taguig-metro-manila

But in summary:
Steak and steak rice are the choice dishes. The greens salad wasn't too shabby either.

Sizzling bacon was a laughable attempt at Peter Lugar.

My experience with Mamou service was horrifying and completely unprofessional. After going through some reviews here, I see that some people find their "2 hour eating time" policy to be appalling. Maybe it's time to move into proper, civilized dining and hospitality?

And to the lady in question, smile naman diyan at wag kang snabera, okay. Di naman kailangan maging Steak Nazi! (full tale at my blog)

I think I will now take 10 giant steps to Gaudi the next time I want steak in Serendra. Gaudi's Villagodio steak will one day take over the world.

4 years ago

kikay chic

wrote a review

Great steak for special occasions

3

My husband and I go here to celebrate special occasions and we always eat the Mamou steak. It's very expensive but we love it! We get the twin size and it's more than enough to fill us up. We think the side portions are too small for 2 people though. I wish they'd make them larger.

We have also tried the salad with cranberry dressing. While good, I don't think it's worth the price of around P3xx.

Dinner reservations are a must! They have 2 batches, 6pm and 830pm.

I like the resto's overall look - simple, classic, not too fancy, but I wish they'd use larger chairs.

4 years ago

babyspring

wrote a review

this is just another plain restaurant

2

the first time I dined here was maybe 3 years ago and nothing change with regards to the restaurants interior design. The restaurant was full and I forgot to call in advance for a tabe reservation but the waitstaff surprisingly accomodated me and my companion. It was a weeknight after the elections and the restaurant was full of local celebrities and I spotted a couple of senators along with their entourage. I noticed this lady-manager/owner (maybe) being overtly nice and accomodating to this just-newly elected senator, I wouldn't mind it if she didnt stay in their table for 20mins talking only to the bigshots while ignoring most other local patrons. She smiled at me and my companion when she walked by our table but hey, after partaking my bland food and wine plus the hot and steamy ambience of this resto, I didn't smile back. For the amount we paid, I wasn't impressed at all. They seriously need some renovations on this one.

4 years ago

LovesDelish

wrote a review

Surprised

3

I heard about the steaks of Mamou, so I wanted to try it, because I love steak. So a few friends and I went there, and shared orders. We ordered the steak, the roast pork and chicken with red rice and a salad. The steak was just okay, I didn't find it great for the price. For the price of a high end steak house, the steak to me wasn't spectacular. I expected a mouthwatering piece of meat, but that's just me. We all have different types I guess, I'm more old fashioned when it comes to steak, plain and simply grilled. This was drenched in fat. I was surprised the reviews on Mamou's steak when I realized its not really a steak restaurant. On its menu, there is just one kind of steak and a lot of other things. Anyway, besides the disappointment in the steak, I loved loved loved the Roast Chicken. Not so much the pork. I found the pork tough and salty. The Chicken was super tender though. I'd definitely come back for that. And the salad was refreshing. I liked that too. So...all in all, I wouldn't eat here for the steak but for the Roast Chicken and salad, I'd definitely come back again. The service was pretty good too. The reservation requirements does suck though, but hey if that is what they want. I understand it considering the small space they have.

4 years ago

Agnesita

wrote a review

Nostalgic

4

You gotta try the Roast Pork & Chicken.
Will definitely go back to taste it again.

Malou was really nice and I was surprised she have the time to chat with the customers considering that orders seems endless. The waiters are nice and polite too.

5 years ago

DFatOne

wrote a review

High Expectations

3

I had very, very high expectations for Mamou because of the reviews here on MunchPunch; and as a result, my dining experience there was something of a letdown. The steak was literally swimming in a centimeter-deep pool of oil. I love drippings but this was just too much. (Of course, me being me, I ate absolutely everything on my plate.) The side dishes were not free, not even cheap and worst of all, not exciting. Considering that for P2,000 I could have flown to Osaka on Cebu Pacific (according to today's banner ad above), I guess I felt entitled to more from Mamou.

6 years ago

Marien Lim

wrote a review

a steak worthy experience :)

4

The steak is incredibly juicy and flavorful. My husband and I eat it slowly to savor it :) The sidings were mashed potatoes (hohum) and creamed spinach (yumm!)
We always order Linguini Vongole too as it's a nice blend with the steak.
We tried their Beer Battered Chicken (not part of the regular menu yet) but I felt it was just another fried chicken. We told this to the owner Malou, (also owns the Blue Kitchen) when she visited our table. She appreciated the feedback and stayed a while to chat with us - so nice!
The food is excellent;
Service is prompt;
Value hmmm reasonable considering the location and the excellent food;
Ambiance is a bit eclectic. No theme ba but I liked looking at the hectic yet coordinated pace in the kitchen. I mentioned this to Malou and she was glad I wasn't around the first month they opened coz according to her it was a nightmare hahaha

6 years ago

geekyobserver

wrote a review

Delicious steak, but not much as else

3

I have to admit, the reviews are what prompted me to try out Mamou. And I definitely was not disappointed. The steak was amazing! Very juicy and flavorful. The lamb was also delicious. Try the lamb rice over the steak rice, it's much more tasty and it also works well with steak. And the cheese, salami and honey appetizer? Mmmmm...

Unfortunately, other than that, there's really nothing more to say about this place. Service for me was average at best, although I did appreciate the personal touch of having the manager/owner visit our table.

The ambiance for me was confusing, as if they couldn't really decide if it's a bar-type resto, or fine dining, or gimikan...it just seemed all over the place and confusing. Even the menu seemed to serve a little bit of everything.

But do visit Mamou for the great food, and big servings. If you're not too bothered by eclectic motifs then it's definitely a great place to eat... I just have an OCD disorder that makes it difficult for to appreciate the 'diversity' of it all.

6 years ago

foody

wrote a review

Best yet I tasted!

5

I asked my sister chef where I can bring my boss who I had to impress. I explained to my sister that she has been personally served by the best chefs around the Metro. She readily recommended Mamou. So last friday I brought my boss to Mamou. We ordered Cracked Cheese with Honey and Fuet P295.00 Grana pugano cheese with slide of honey and fuet Catalonian salami and the Mamou's Greens. Boy! Everything Melted together as if each ingredient were born to meet each other (that was for the cheese stuff). The Mamou's greens were light tasty crunchy sweet and sour (bit) but the combination again proved successful!. I guarantee you I will be back and so will my boss...

6 years ago

Sweeper

wrote a review

Good Job, Great Food !

5

Not only is the food great but you cannot ask anything more of the people running it and their able pleasant crew.

MAMOU is a place you would want come back every time you could to bask in the warmth of its ambience and more importantly to savor its recipe, old and new.

Day after day, week after week, you see families, couples and friends dining and exchanging stories and pleasantries. No pretensions, no angst, it is as good as it gets !

Good Job, Great Food !

6 years ago

Michael

wrote a review

Death by Mamou

4

You must drop by Mamou!!! Do not hesitate. The steaks will kill you. The steak rice will kill you. The corn pudding will kill you. It's worthy of a last meal prior to execution. It's crazy inside the kitchen...the waiter/chef per customer ratio looked like 1:3! That's how attentive they were, extremely friendly and helpful too.

If I have to nitpick, one waiter pronounced Key Lime Pie as "Kay Lime Pie." I guess that's a free pinoy joke with your dessert.

6 years ago

the.spicy.spy

wrote a review

A Great Aunt's Kitchen! 6 stars for SERVICE!

4

Service:
The first time I dined at Mamou, I called in advance even if I'm already in Serendra just to book a reservation. Good thing I did! I was informed that it's fully booked. Since, I'm seldom in the area, I decided to sweet talk them and requested to have a table prepared for me (just in case) and to call me through my mobile phone when the table is ready. I got my table after a few minutes.

Hmm… at first I thought, are they being a snob? Telling people they're fully-booked when they can easily accommodate you? But, I was mistaken. I requested for a table for 3 but willing to settle to table for 2. But when I got there, reserved was a table for 4.

It was a full house. I see walk-in guests being turned down. Since another companion is running late, we were thinking to give up one table to accommodate other walk-ins but the server refused to since it will be slightly cramp for us. That got me surprised but very pleased since given the fact that they can easily accommodate more people with slight discomfort for us.

The 2nd time I visited, it was the same scenario. Then, I realized this 'trick' shows how this restaurant value and prioritize their loyal guests. The service is very personal. I feel like the owner knows her guests by name! =) She’ll chat with you, and make sure you’re dining fine there. You'll even see her cleaning tables.

The service is definitely above standard. Despite the restaurant's new-found fame and word-of-mouth success, they won't skimp you on time, space, and food portioning. They're smart enough to give up getting new customers and bigger sales to maintain consistency, good service and food quality.

I'd give it 6 stars for service!

Food:
Yes, true to people who are raving about it: With its tasty, tender, grilled meat, dripping with its fat - a sinful steak, indeed! I keep coming back for the steak, with the red rice cooked with the delicious steak drippings and creamy spinach sidings. Finish it up with a Lime Pie for dessert. Really good meal!!

Can’t wait to try the Duck Adobo Flakes and the Cobbler on my next visit!

6 years ago

1983

wrote a review

the best steak in town

4

this place serves the most sinful steaks in town

try the fried steak fat, even just a morsel.....

the steak rice is good too!

6 years ago

  • 1
  • 2

Profile

Type
International , Steaks Casual Dining
Budget
P300 - 500
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th, F: 12:00PM - 3:00PM
  • M, T, W, Th, F, Sa, Su: 6:00PM - 10:00PM
  • Sa: 11:00AM - 3:00PM
  • Su: 10:00AM - 3:00PM
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?
On The VIP Menu