SumoSam

SumoSam Shangri-la Plaza Mall

6/F Shangri-la Plaza Mall, The Ledge, Shaw Blvd Wack Wack, Mandaluyong Metro Manila Philippines (02) 637-5704
SumoSam 1.72727272727273 5 12 2
lorz muana

lorz muana had Sukiyaki

1

We ate this last night 8/22/2014. And had really bad experience at Shangri-la Plaza Mall Branch.

It should be called as "SUKI-YUCKY" it was too salty!!!
We even asked the waiter to give us a soup that tasted better but what he did was he gave us the same salty soup!!! Parang punong puno ng MSG ung food! and the service was really bad! Nkaminidress ung unang nagassist samen na girl very informal tingnan, supervisor ata un kc di nakauniform na para lng nagseserve sa krinderya or sa cheap bar.

NEVER gonna try it again.

24 days ago

Brian Tamase

Brian Tamase was here

4

9 months ago

purplegurl

wrote a review

arrogant sup

3

It was my first time to dine in Sumosam Shangri La Mall in Mandaluyong and I think it will be the last time I'd dine there as well. The food was ok, it was actually great especially the Ebi Teppan. What we hate about my experience with Sumosam was that tall guy with a large nose wearing gray polo with necktie? We asked one of the staff who that was and they only told us he was actually the supervisor Mr. Lester -- whatever his last name is!? oh my, a supervisor and yet he acts like that? his voice could be heard all over the place while chatting with the other staff, and what the heck the place is already getting crowded and the supervisor could make time for chatting. My oh my, heads up owners, do you really trust this guy to supervise 1 of your chain? When you go to other restaurants Supervisor would roam around and check on customers every now and then making sure their actually comfortable, but with your supervisor seems to be roaming around arrogantly, making jokes on other staff, we didn't notice him approach any 1 of the tables to check on guests. We 're working for a large customer service company in and out of the country and we're very keen with details. I hope Sumosam management can resolve this issues regarding Sumosam before you lose more customers. You should be eyeing on loyal customers instead of satisfied customers. We just hope you conduct good training especially for people with positions, very disappointing experience with a very arrogant supervisor. How did he get to that position with that attitude?

3 years ago

Ariadne

wrote a review

Sumo Sam has fallen apart

1

I agree with the other reviews. Sumo Sam used to be my family's favorite restaurant around 2 years ago but the service and food quality have already disintegrated. Too bad. =(

3 years ago

Barnone

wrote a review

the worst sumo sam branch!

Today, we had our worst dinner ever at any sumo sam branch. Since we have already dined in sumo sam trinoma and rockwell before so we know what to expect in the food that was going to be served. We initially ordered wagyu bacon rice (P299), Mt. Fuji Steak (P368) and Bacon Enoki (P238). We waited more than usual because it was 7:45pm and many were having their dinner as well. However, we were so frustrated that when they served the food, the wagyu in the wagyu bacon rice was very hard and the steak that was served was cooked rare instead of medium-well that we requested for. We asked the waiter to just return the steak back to the kitchen and cook it some more. Then as if the two disappointments weren't enough, the bacon enoki came and it was really burnt!!! This really isn't acceptable already! So, we asked for the manager ( Mr. Casano ) and he sent the food back to the kitchen to be replaced ( supposedly ). To cut the story short, the steak came back, still with some blood and the bacon enoki was still burnt and very salty ( probably to cover the burnt taste as well and I could feel that they just cut the one end that was really burnt and served the same dish again to us ). Despite the very bad food that was serve, this restaurant still had the guts to ask for a service charge! What a rip-off!!! I will tell all my friends to avoid this restaurant altogether even if the manager assured me that they will take this up in their meeting. I don't think one meeting can improve their food quality nor service. This restaurant used to serve good food but as it is, I guess they have already became complacent thinking that they are the best and only restaurant in town that serves japanese food! They ought to train their staff because that's what's going to kill their business!

3 years ago

riz517

wrote a review

sumo sam trinoma

1

we ate at sumo sam in trinoma. my family had the tofu steak, chicken terriyaki and sukiyaki. we are so frustrated to find out the sukiyaki had a melted plastic in it. it means when they cooked the sukiyaki it was there and we saw the plastic when we almost halfway done with the dish. it is so frustrating because this can cause cancer. they should learn that there are laws regarding food handling.

4 years ago

ruby lao

wrote a review

frustrating

1

Disappointed when I first visited their Trinoma branch. Then, gave it a second chance and tried this branch and it was equally frustrating!!!

4 years ago

vIrGo07

wrote a review

Sumo Sam experience

1

I have to agree with the previous reviewers. Food is ok and the staff is rude and service is really really slow. I like the teriyaki roll but the unagi roll tasted funny. Not coming back again!

4 years ago

Orange

wrote a review

Still bad service

2

I have no complaints about the food. I enjoyed my orders every time I go there. But I just had to write to say that what the others said about their service a year ago is still true... waiters are still so cocky and haughty and impatient, it spoiled my enjoyment of their food. They mixed up orders, too. They placed food dishes on our table that were not ours... twice. One waiter also got the condiments from our table to another table without even asking us if we still needed them. Even the girl assigning the tables and seats was not so welcoming. Para silang mga serbidora sa tabi-tabing karinderya lang. Baka nga mas magalang pa ang mga serbidora sa karinderya kaysa sa kanila. C'mon, Management, address this problem or else you will lose more customers. Or pang-takeout na lang kayo.

4 years ago

krla3cia

wrote a review

fab food, so-so service

2

Sumo Sam has an extensive menu - from the basic sashimi and sushi platters to bacon-wrapped tempura and japanese-style pizza. Definitely a must-try for Japanese food enthusiasts. Fave dishes would have to be salmon with wasabi cream sauce and crunchy tuna roll.

Beware of the sea urchin, btw. Assess quality and taste before finishing the lot.

Service, on the other hand, is questionable. Of the four times I had dined there, I had two good and two bad experiences with the waitstaff. This one waiter kept putting the plates on the edge of the table, expecting us to reach out for the items ourselves. Tsk tsk.

5 years ago

hellokitty

wrote a review

Horrible

1

we celebrated our dad's bday last aug. 20 at sumo sam shangri-la but it was a totally horrible experience.

rude waiters... i even heard a comment when we were leaving "natapos din ito" pointing to our table. maybe since we were a large group, we kept on asking a lot of stuff from them. if only they had given our requests immediately...

bad food... first, our platters didn't have everything that were on the picture (in the menu). we just realized after we finished eating that the sushi/sashimi were missing. because we insisted for refund, they removed about P100 peso on the bill, out of the thousands total bill.

the beef barbeque was so hard, it was like eating a plastic with BLOOD.

total experience was really bad. i was itching on putting a review about it even if we were still there!

6 years ago

leyz uy

wrote a review

Sumo's Getting Tired???

2

I had a chance to visit Sumo Sam again the other night. Some friends would complain about the service (which I understand can be a struggle for the kitchen and dining staff when it's packed for lunch and dinner). For its food, this restaurant used to be one of my favorites. But the last time I was there - it was a disappointment.

The Gohan rice was like a day old and it has a strand of hair in it. The Osuyaki Beef Rolls (my favorite) taste bland... I don't know what's missing... The Las Vegas Roll (the first time to try it) looks different from the menu photo. The cheese on top wasn't melted enough and the presentation just different. We ordered other dishes too, taste nothing special.. Overall, I felt disappointed with the experience. What happened??

I mentioned this observation to my sister, she thinks so too and the same reason she stopped going for some time now.

I still wish to dine again next time.. Boy, I sure hope Mr. Sumo gets back to his feet again for the next round!

6 years ago

Profile

Type
Japanese , Steaks Casual Dining
Budget
P300 - 500
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th: 11:00AM - 9:00PM
  • F: 11:00AM - 10:00PM
  • Sa: 10:00AM - 10:00PM
  • Su: 10:00AM - 9:00PM
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?
On The VIP Menu