Sushi Yum

Sushi Yum Binondo

827 Benavidez St Binondo, Manila Metro Manila Philippines (02) 242-7717

This location has no activity. Here's what is happening nearby.

UniversiTEA 3.33333333333333 5 15 0
mkc13

wrote a review for UniversiTEA Legarda

Great tea!

4

I love the Wintermelon Milk Tea!

Here's what I order,

Wintermelon Milk Tea | 30% Sugar

2 years ago

Ayna

wrote a review for Tao Yuan Restaurant Lucky Chinatown Mall

Where's the Ox toungue??!!!!

2

My friends and I decided to try Tao Yuan at Lucky Chinatown Mall. There were others that we wanted to try, but we ended up with this one, since we enjoyed their shabu-shabu in Mabini.

Per recommendation of the "order-taker", we decided on Mixed Mushrooms with Ox Tongue in X.O. Sauce and Beef Brisket.

When our Mixed Mushrooms dish came, we saw there were a lot of thinly-sliced beef together with the mushrooms. Nowhere in the menu mentioned beef. We looked at each other and said "Where's the ox tongue?" We started to eat mixed mushrooms dish, but after several spoonfuls of it, we weren't able to taste any of the, supposedly, Ox Tongue in our order... just beef and mushrooms.

We asked the order-taker to "point" or tell us which of the ingredients is the ox tongue. He went to call someone else. After about more than 5 minutes, a tall guy came, who we think is the chef, used the fork and pulled out what we say is one of the mushrooms. He said that THAT is the ox tongue. We told him that we know the texture of ox tongue is and how tasted like. And we told him, it's neither. We told him it's more like bamboo shoot or mushroom that's a little "crispy". He went away. And after another 5 minutes, an elderly lady came to us. Here's her explanation:

"This is the ox tongue. It's because it's thinly-sliced that the ox tongue is a little "crispy".... Say whaaaat????

We told her that we've tasted ox tongue before, and we love ox tongue. Never had we tried "crispy" ox tongue. We told her the texture is more like mushroom or bamboo shoot. It was smooth, and no "lines" were on it. She again repeated her explanation. We shook our heads, not looking at her, and said "ok". She walked away.

Can somebody tell me if ox tongue can be crispy, especially if it's sliced thinly? And should ox tongue be smooth?

I'm not sure if my friends and I are going back to Tao Yuan because of this kind of service. =(

2 years ago

Chicadee97

wrote a review for Tao Yuan Restaurant Lucky Chinatown Mall

Service Crew Fiasco

3

The service crew here should be made aware of the dangers of eating undercooked chicken meat. My friends and I calmly informed the waiter of the undercooked portion but he dismissed it as merely the meat near the bone..so he thinks that it's just natural that the said portion should be undercooked! We called the attention of the manager to have the plate at least reheated, not even replaced. The dish came back.. not heated and obviously,they just removed the offending portion. Alas, we saw another undercooked meat beneath all the cooked pieces. We called her attention the second time..the dish came back, microwaved! Bottomline, they should have done their jobs right the first time. I believe this particular branch will ruin the reputation of Tao Yuan as a whole unless they do something about their service crew..very unprofessional and unhygienic!

2 years ago

chingtungchai

wrote a review for Tasty Dumplings Binondo

Tasty indeed

3

I was hesitant to try it at first but with my friend's persuasion I decided to give it a try. And man I was not disappointed. By just the smell of the dumplings you can tell that they are indeed tasty as the nme implies. But what completed the experience for me was their Pork Chops which were tender and the flavoring which was unique and perfectly balanced in terms of saltiness. I think they have the best pork chop in town right now. Definitely worth revisiting.

2 years ago

natzsm

wrote a review for Barbara's Restaurant Intramuros

You get what you pay for.

1

I was able to get a voucher from a group buying site so I ended up paying only 50 percent of the current price.

At 200+ I enjoyed the show. The food on the other hand was just ok. I really wouldn't want to complain because I could easily spend that amount and more for just a coffee or a satisfying meal at a fast food place.

I sympathize though with the customers who had to pay full price. I would really feel ripped off if I too paid 500+. Simply not worth it even if they have a cultural show.

I would definitely not recommend Barbara's nor eat their again at their current offering.

2 years ago

pandalette

wrote a review for Tasty Dumplings Binondo

Tasty!

4

Tasty Dumplings is one of my all-time favorite Chinese restaurants in Binondo. Serving some great yet affordable Taiwanese style food, this place is a refreshing break from the salty, oily, MSG-laden, and not to mention expensive, Cantonese-style cuisine that's common for other Chinese restaurants in the area. The first thing you notice upon entering Tasty Dumplings is that everyone is ordering the same thing: their famous porkchop rice! A huge piece of marinated pork, pounded thinly, coated in breading, and deep fried to perfection. Add a dash of their special salty sauce (I don't know what it is, only that it is salty) and you have a super yummy, crispy porkchop! (The pork itself is actually quite salty, so the sauce is optional.) Served with your choice of rice or noodles. Also comes with a bowl of soup (which you can ask for) and a small serving of stir-fried veggies.

Tasty's dumplings are of course just as good as their other signature dish. They are filled with meat and other things I cannot identify, but it does not matter because they are super good. The skin is not too thick, just the right texture and chewiness. You can even get them deep fried or steamed, and filled with meat only or a combination of meat and kuchay (a type of strong-flavored vegetable). Or you can get them with noodles, with a light soup base that's not very flavorful. If you need more salt in your life, then add some of the above-mentioned sauce, but the blandness is really the beauty of it. The noodles are a bit tasteless but nice and chewy.

Something else I recommend: their wintermelon juice. It's very light and refreshing and perfect for beating the summer heat!

(Visit "The Lunch Buddies" for photos! http://thelunchbuddies.blogspot.com/2011/02/tasty-dumplings.html)

2 years ago

Prettymarge

wrote a review for Barbara's Restaurant Intramuros

Great Food and entertainment

5

I have read the reviews for this restaurant, months ago even before i went there myself to really prove who says the truth. I should say, the food was really good, although only a few entries compared to other buffet which has wide array of choices but those few entries are the best. Service is good, staff are very warm and welcoming, very polite too. The place...superb! And the highlight of my visit is the cultural dance show. Very entertaining. With that warm and cozy place, the nice staff, very delicious food and the very entertaining show, i would definitely come back and even pass that good information to my friends and relatives so that they can experience it themselves..

2 years ago

Jim Moriarty

wrote a review for Jollibee Tutuban Center

What is (not) fast food?

3

Everything's great--food, value, ambiance--except the service. Ambagal nila, and to think andaming pumupunta doon (lalo na kapag lunch). Inabot ako ng 30 minutes kakahintay just to order a sundae. I just hope next time ayos na.

2 years ago

sergs solis

wrote a review for ZCT Delicious Restaurant Sta. Cruz

delicious chami

3

the palce is quite rundown but the food is superb specially their famous CHAMI. Very affordable including their booze.

2 years ago

chingtungchai

wrote a review for Sincerity Restaurant Binondo

Chicken goodness!

4

I love their chicken and kiampong. I will certainly try their other dishes on my next visit. A unique taste of their chicken keeps customers asking for more both dine in and take out. Price is reasonably fair too. Highly recommended.

2 years ago

chingtungchai

wrote a review for Masuki Binondo

Noodle goodness at its best

3

Originally known as Ma Kong Mami, even with the name changed to Masuki, its still at its best! Their range of noodle soups comes along with spring onions and asado sauce designed for custom taste along with their other free condiments. Noodles are an original of theirs and are well cooked, not rubbery and definitely not soggy. An order of any of their special mami good enough for two people because of the huge serving which also arrives fast. A real value for your money and time.

2 years ago

pandalette

wrote a review for Aristocrat Restaurant SM City San Lazaro

Efficient delivery!

5

Tried their delivery hotline today and had chicken BBQ delivered to our home for only 50 pesos delivery charge. Excellent service, prompt delivery, courteous staff, and of course, fantastic food! Now I can enjoy their classic chicken BBQ in the comfort of my own home. :)

2 years ago

randeer

wrote a review for Flavours of China SM City San Lazaro

Nice food

3

I like the fish fillet with tausi and tofu

Hello erick (crew)
Text me 9226780444

2 years ago

randeer

wrote a review for Karate Kid SM City San Lazaro

Cold rice

2

They gave me rice thats cold!

2 years ago

chingtungchai

wrote a review for Wai Ying Fastfood Sta. Cruz

Simply the best!

5

Everything you order here is worth your penny because everything on the menu are delectable. All of my favorites are born here. This is where, for the very first time, I was able to try authentic Chinese cuisine and until now I have never forgotten it. As long as I live, Waiying will be in my heart.

2 years ago

Profile

Type
Japanese Fast Food
Budget
P150 - 300
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th, F, Sa, Su: 10:30AM - 9:00PM
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?
On The VIP Menu