Tajima Japanese Yakiniku Restaurant

Tajima Japanese Yakiniku Restaurant Harbor Square

2/F Harbour Square, Pedro Bukaneg St Malate, Manila Metro Manila Philippines (02) 833-2305

This location has no activity. Here's what is happening nearby.

Cong's Balay Maynila 3.26666666666667 5 15 0
trantor2nd

wrote a review for Cong's Balay Maynila Malate

Generous servings of tasty food

4

Servings are large. Meat is tender. Facilities are clean. Al-Fresco dining with native motif appealing but better when windy, so closed in daytime. Distance from Malate hotspots and a stage empty of performers foreshadow financial woes, but makes it an ideal place for private functions.

2 years ago

Paean Saucium

wrote a review for Latitude Traders Hotel - Manila

A Breakfast to Remember

4

A friend of mine recommended a certain restaurant over at Trader's Hotel along Roxas Boulevard. He said it offered a good breakfast buffet for less than 1000 pesos. A little research gave me the name of the place: Latitude.

I soon found out why he had recommended it. The line-up is appetizing, compact and just about right for me. The fluffy scrambled eggs (which taste suspiciously like Mom's cooking) sumptuous French toast with honey and refreshing fruit juices all deserve special mention.

People may note the fact that the buffet line is smaller compared to other hotel buffets, yet that is exactly what makes it so compelling: you don't get that feeling of being overwhelmed by the sheer enormity of it all. To me, its simpler nature makes it feel warmer and more inviting, just like the presence of an old friend.

Combined with the presentation of the food, the restaurant's service and ambiance make the place feel even more homey. Comfy chairs and moderate lighting make for a pleasurable dining experience. From the beginning, the manager entertained my questions and even offered to book my reservation. The rest of the courteous staff even gave me a plate of succulent mangoes on the house.

To date, Latitude has yet to disappoint me. I pray that things will stay that way. It's a great place where one can relax, unwind and refuel on a slow, weekend morning.

2 years ago

Ayna

wrote a review for Tao Yuan Restaurant Malate

Where's the Ox Tongue???!!!

2

My friends and I decided to try Tao Yuan at Lucky Chinatown Mall. There were others that we wanted to try, but we ended up with this one, since we enjoyed their shabu-shabu in Mabini.

Per recommendation of the "order-taker", we decided on Mixed Mushrooms with Ox Tongue in X.O. Sauce and Beef Brisket.

When our Mixed Mushrooms dish came, we saw there were a lot of thinly-sliced beef together with the mushrooms. Nowhere in the menu mentioned beef. We looked at each other and said "Where's the ox tongue?" We started to eat mixed mushrooms dish, but after several spoonfuls of it, we weren't able to taste any of the, supposedly, Ox Tongue in our order... just beef and mushrooms.

We asked the order-taker to "point" or tell us which of the ingredients is the ox tongue. He went to call someone else. After about more than 5 minutes, a tall guy came, who we think is the chef, used the fork and pulled out what we say is one of the mushrooms. He said that THAT is the ox tongue. We told him that we know the texture of ox tongue is and how tasted like. And we told him, it's neither. We told him it's more like bamboo shoot or mushroom that's a little "crispy". He went away. And after another 5 minutes, an elderly lady came to us. Here's her explanation:

"This is the ox tongue. It's because it's thinly-sliced that the ox tongue is a little "crispy".... Say whaaaat????

We told her that we've tasted ox tongue before, and we love ox tongue. Never had we tried "crispy" ox tongue. We told her the texture is more like mushroom or bamboo shoot. It was smooth, and no "lines" were on it. She again repeated her explanation. We shook our heads, not looking at her, and said "ok". She walked away.

Can somebody tell me if ox tongue can be crispy, especially if it's sliced thinly? And should ox tongue be smooth?

I'm not sure if my friends and I are going back to Tao Yuan because of this kind of service. =(

2 years ago

fairyblush

wrote a review for Café Adriatico Malate

Class A Cafe

4

Though I've only been here thrice, I could say it's one fine-dining joint I'd always look forward to going to. It's ambiance is perfectly Old Manila and the food is impeccably succulent. Located perfectly within the Adriatico Circle area, it definitely is rated A cafe.

2 years ago

RunDoms

wrote a review for La Scala Cafe Malate

A cafe with character

3

From the main entrance downstairs to the display cabinets and frames lining the walls, this cafe exudes a distinct charm that brings back nostalgic memories or a glimpse of a bygone era.

The Food:
The menu was simple, the food unpretentious. Prices were fair (250-400 for some dishes 600-1200 for steaks) and servings were generous. We tried the pasta which was good but really enjoyed the Gambe Chilli (Shrimp in mash potato with a spicy salsa). We ordered ours a bit mild so the burn was just right. Again, the portions were generous and the three of us left the place quite full indeed.

Note: It takes them an hour to cook the Paella (according to the waiter) so better order in advance.

Service:
This was the downer for the night. It was still early (9pm) and yet the waiter kept on interrupting our meal by taking away the glasses and dishes (and they weren't even empty yet). The definite low was when the waiter took the baked penne pan, scraped the few remaining pieces of pasta and gesture to ask to whose plate should he dump the food in! We were enjoying our time so we just laughed it off.

2 years ago

Carlo Lonzanida

wrote a review for Latitude Traders Hotel - Manila

It's all in the review. :)

4

Food: Delicious! I didn't get to actually try the meat dishes since I was trying hard to restrict myself to a vegetarian meal, but I know it tastes good. The vegetables were good as well! Especially the Teriyaki Tofu!

Service: No bad service on this end! :)

Ambiance: This was actually the first time I've ever been in an uncrowded buffet style of service restaurant. It has the feel of a fine dining setting but you can eat to your heart's content.

Value: I rly can't say anything abt the value since somebody else paid for our meal, but since it's in a hotel, prices above Php500 are acceptable on my standards.

FINAL VERDICT: Definitely worth a return trip. ^^,

2 years ago

origshopaholicpooh Ragudo

wrote a review for Korean Village Manila

Needs improvement

2

this resto has been around for years. good food, yes.. great beef stew & bbq! i guess management became lax because its still packed with diners during meal times. there are a lot of things to improve though:
1. customer service - i know it was during peak hours when we were there but cant the staff at least smile a bit?!? when we asked for something from one of the waitresses, she smirked and called the waiter assigned to us.
2. cleanliness/sanitation - there was hair in one of the dishes
3. comfort rooms - need to be cleaned regularly esp during peak times. for a resto that's a bit pricey, we expect much cleaner, more maintained rest rooms.

My rating: C-
not going back unless someone invites & pays for the meal!

2 years ago

BabyFrog

wrote a review for Flapjacks Robinsons Place Manila

Worst BGC restaurant ever

1

SEATING
We weren't seated when we came in. There were 5 of us and we were given a table for 4, with the staff telling us that he would get an extra seat. My husband stood beside a table where the kitchen manager was seated, and he did not even bother to offer a vacant seat from the table. He simply ignored us, and it was my husband who ended up getting the extra seat. We didn't feel welcome.
GETTING ORDERS
The kitchen manager was the one who got our orders. We kept on clarifying to him that my son wanted the barbecue ribs only and not the combo, and he kept on repeating that order as combo.
THE STAFF
It struck us that the staff of this particular outlet was very unprofessional.
There was a time when the manager was chewing while attending to us.
Staff was noisy and did not speak in a soft manner in front of customers.
Plates were not given for the appetizers. This resulted to really messy tables as the crumbs kept falling on the table. We had to ask for the plates, otherwise they would never have come.
The kitchen manager, yes him again, went to our table after we got our bill, grabbed my BGC card, and said: This is someone else's card. I gave yours to the wrong person. But it was my card. I saw my name on it, yet he still pulled it away. He didn't even apologize. (See my comment below on still the same kitchen manager about what he did to our bill.)
THE FOOD
It took a long time for the food to be prepared.
Food was very greasy.
The presentation was not good and far from impressive, somehow matched the surroundings.
THE PREMISES
Premises were very dirty. Couch cover very dirty and had a lot of black stains.
Plastic bags on top of counters. Smelled quite bad.
The moment we entered, we kind of doubted if this was really a BGC restaurant.
THE BGC CARD
20% discount was not applied to all food items. Other outlets are very transparent in adding everything then deducting the bgc discount at the end of the bill. The kitchen manager only applied the 20% off to some food items. This was the first time I saw it done this way. I called on another crew member to make the corrections. Neither the manager nor the crew member apologized for the mistake, and the difference between the 2 bills was significant.

What a disgrace to BGC this place was. I will never eat in Flapjacks again nor recommend this to anyone.

2 years ago

reignloleng

wrote a review for Choice Buffet Restaurant Hobbies of Asia

Best Value

4

Cheaper than YakiMix. Almost better in some ways. Best value for your money. :)

2 years ago

chingtungchai

wrote a review for Zark's Burgers Taft Ave.

Answer for huge hunger

3

If you're tired of the same old burgers that come in small sizes, then Zark's Burgers is for you. A wide range of burgers found on their menu and the price is definitely reasonable. I tried their Jawbreaker burger and it was massive! It took me a while to finish it all up good thing along with the burger comes a free serving of fries and refillable ice tea. A perfect match for their gigantic burgers. Next time I will try their challenges and maybe I could get away with it free of charge. The ambiance is the only downside its quite steamy inside their establishment. A little improvement maybe on the airconditioning plus you go home smelling like grease so that goes to the exhaust system as well. But overall it was a fun burger experience.

2 years ago

pandalette

wrote a review for Aristocrat Restaurant Roxas Blvd.

Best Chicken BBQ in town!

4

I am never disappointed when I eat at Aristocrat! The quality is always consistent, and prices are always reasonable. Their chicken BBQ is a childhood favorite and will always be my ultimate comfort food.

2 years ago

P Anda

wrote a review for Sunset Bar Sofitel Philippine Plaza

Sunset Bar Poolside BBQ

4

Group Buying sites are great for getting buffet deals in town at a discount. It is the best way to one could test the food offerings of a restaurant first without knowing what to expect at full price.

This visit was via a group buying site offer of 999 instead of 2000PHP for poolside bbq at Sofitel Sunset Bar.

The food offerings was very limited - two roasts, and basically there were a handful of short tables around - 1 for salads, 1 veggy salad, soup, 1 for side dishes, 1 other grilled items, then a short table for desserts.

There was different seafood grilled items on offer like prawns, squid, salmon head. Items were fresh and freshly cooked. There was grilled lamb chops, chicken and sausage on offer

This was a strict bbq affair - roasts or grilled items and then you select your side dishes including rice, potato, pasta and salads.

To sum it up:

Pros
- Food items were fresh, tasty, and delicious
- Staff were knowledgeable about the food spread and are not just standing by. They know what is on offer and engage guests to try out the dishes
- Unlimited drinks beer, soda, iced tea
- Huge poolside area and lawn (great for kiddies to run around)
- Cultural show to keep guests entertained
- Added bonus - a fireworks show at MOA
- Waitstaff were attentive and courteous and friendly
- No problems with refills
- straight to the point bbq affair
- open air (good if the weather is cool and skies are clear)

Cons
- Open air (bad if it's pouring cats and dogs or when the weather is humid or muggy)
- tables were quite too close to each other
- no assigned waitstaff per group of tables so it was a little confusing as to which one should you call if you needed something
- unlimited drinks (guests were not informed that only one type of unlimited drink is allowed per guest. meaning if you started off with soda, you cannot order another type of drink midway throughout the meal. However having said that, with a little filipino ingenuity - one can go around the issue with no problem)
-waitstaff for not informing guests about the unlimited drink condition
-traffic going to Sofitel was a nightmare specially as the buffet is only available on a Friday or Saturday


This buffet is not for people expecting other food choices aside from grilled items, roasts and side dishes.

Although items were refilled, a dish was most likely replenished with another food item. for example as soon as the roast pig and prime rib was depleted, they replaced it with salmon. After the mussels ran out, they replaced it with salmon head, and after the prawns ran out they replaced it with squid. This could be a plus or a minus because guests lose out on a potentially sought after food item like lobster? A plus because guests can sample a wide variety of food items. Depends on how you see it.


The dessert spread was mainly native food stuff like bibingka although they do have ice cream and tarts and a mousse. Certainly would be better if they included other dessert items

Conclusion
The poolside bbq at Sofitel is a great way to unwind with family on a weekend. It is not a hurried affair and people can take their time enjoying the surrounds, the open air and sea view (although they may miss out out on certain food items if it was depleted and replaced with another food item)

Would I come back again? Definitely

Would I pay the full price of PHP 2000 ? IMHO, the buffet is not worth that price so NO. I would rather wait for another group buying deal

by the way i rated 4 stars for value based on the coupon price of PHP900 not the original price of PHP 2000

2 years ago

Joyce Cayabyab

wrote a review for Market Café Hyatt Hotel & Casino Manila

Good and bad of market cafe

3

I just tried lunch at market cafe due to a deal I got from dealgrocer, went with my husband and sisters. The place is great, clean, neat, the staff are very attentive and helpful.
Whenever I go to buffets, I go straight to the japanese section. I liked their sashimis mainly because they remove the fishy dark parts in the salmon. It was fresh and really good. The sushis were limited but they were good.
The pizzas were baked fresh from scratch and i love the taste of their dough. Howevervthe toppings were ordinary, like any other pizza out there.
The cooked food selection were few but nothing really memorable about them. The noodle was disappointing, very bland.
The prime rib is excellent indeed, moist and tender. But they don't restock when they run out of it so be early.what disappointed me most I guess is the choice of seafood and meat to cook. When I browsed reviews of this resto they showed a lot of fresh fish and meats. There were no crabs, or steaks, or whole fish, or marlin. Good thing I got discount.
The desserts were fantastic! Must try the crepes with ice cream. But the sherbet has a bitter after taste.
All in all it was ok for me. It was not bad as in terrible.

2 years ago

Jeremy Tan

wrote a review for Spiral Sofitel Philippine Plaza

It's your diet spiraling out of control

4

This is the Philippines' #1 buffet spread bar none. Where in the world can you find foie gras and sea bass as part of the spread?

In my humble, gluttonious opinion, all other hotel buffets are competing for the runner up position (Heat, Paseo, Circles etc) panis sila!

2 years ago

ann1979

wrote a review for Sinangag Express DLSU

great service! good food!

3

i love their chilled taho and the sinangag...very affordable and the students favorite... i saw plenty of them dining there...service is fast! I want to franchise sinangag express at a mall in cavite area. Anyone can give me details? Are you available for franchising? I mean the " real sinangag express". Thanks!

2 years ago

Profile

Type
Japanese Casual Dining
Budget
P300 - 500
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th, F, Sa, Su: 12:00PM - 12:00MN
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?
On The VIP Menu