The Chocolate Kiss Cafe

The Chocolate Kiss Cafe UP Diliman

G/F Ang Bahay ng Alumni, R. Magsaysay St. Diliman, Quezon City Metro Manila Philippines (02) 332-3502
The Chocolate Kiss Cafe 3.75 5 12 1
SgtOinky

wrote a review

back in the day

4

My batch was there when their doors 1st opened. My friends were always welcome there because that time, CK was not as known as it is now. about 30 of us would leave the tambayan, head there in our cars which were full of friends, park at the back then head up to hang. It was a break from the heat and the monotony of U.P. life. We would all order dessert and iced tea, coffee, juice, whatever.

We would always fill the place, the owner was so happy that she would let us run the place for few hours, by that i mean we could study there and hang til the late afternoon. Eventually as the place became popular we were a welcome addition coz my crowd made the place cozy with conversation, and alive with music. My friend would play the piano, and a bunch of would sing along.

I am sure it still the same.

2 years ago

Hitman77

wrote a review

Worth going back

4

Food was excellent but not perfect. I did enjoy my visit because the place was customer friendly, the prices were affordable and the service was satisfactory.

3 years ago

Camille Abigail

wrote a review

mixemotions

4

Critique: The Chocolate Kiss Caffé
Cuisine: Italian and Filipino fusion
Hours: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm
Location: G/F Ang Bahay Alumni, R Magsaysay St., UP Diliman Quezon City
Tel No: (632) 433-37-82
Ambiance:
Lighting- Natural lighting and also used blue light bulbs
Music- Bosanova Coffee Music
Air conditioner- They have their own and needs a little cleaning
Furniture-
Chairs- Black plastic material with yellow cushion chairs
Tables-Black plastic material with a circle top
Walls- Plain painted white walls
Floors- Maroon tiles
Foods Ordered:
Beverage- “Bottomless Ice Tea” P70.00 it was really smart of them to make this ice tea bitter because it really is freshly brewed, but it also had honey on the side with a calamansi as a garnish.
Entrée- “Pizza Margherita” P165.00 I was kind of surprise for the lack of basil but oh well it still is hearty, tasty and delicious.
Dessert- “Kahlua Cake” P95.00 it was a really big slice but very moist and good; I would have finish it but I really can’t it such a big size also fits for those mocha lovers to try this.
Customers:
Class B-C of students, businessmen, family of class B mostly, less of C, and clothing were business and casual.


Waiters:
Men and women have black shirts with a type of drawing of the restaurant on the back and a matching black pants plus a black apron.
Server:
Waiters- He does not know how to up sell their dishes and seemed like they were in a hurry to serve; although it was understood that it was a rush hour still hello I paid for their service not only their food!!! Anyways they still served with a smile but come on it felt unwelcome.
Menu:
It was in a laminated and designed like a fan like shape with the touch of their tones that were in the restaurant such as: yellow, black and white. They were all written and had descriptions as well but no pictures; however, it did not need any because it was not in their concept
Recommend:
Yes, it is worth to stay in this restaurant; however, I would probably spend this every four weeks because of my budget and the distance of this place as well. But as long as you are leaving around this area then by all means no problem here. They don’t give any comment cards so they would probably want you to tell them personally about how their food tastes like. Just hoping service will improve because the food is great.

3 years ago

Jo Albin Nery

wrote a review

Good food, nostalgic, but needs to keep up.

3

Being a student of UP Diliman has its perks when it comes to food. I believe no one should graduate from UPD without having to taste The Chocolate Kiss Cafe's sinful rumaki, that scrumptious bacon-wrapped-liver-and-and-water-chestnut thingamajiggie...er..appetizer. Order a cup of rice and that's already a meal in itself, says (insert cheapskate's name here...wait, that's me). Their bottomless tea with ice (not your usual powdered drink) comes with a calamansi for a garnish and a sugar syrup that's fun to pour into your tea to gauge its sweetness. Another must have is the chicken kiev, creamy, not too salty, but not bland either. Cakes are a so-so, though the carrot cake has shreds of carrot in it, not tiny, almost inconceivable bits as in other pretentious ones. The place is kind of deteriorating now (this is the ground floor branch I'm talking about. The 2nd floor one was closed when we went there recently). Kind of needs renovation. Plating and presentation does not suit the price of the food well. And they should lose the Monobloc chairs, for crying out loud!

3 years ago

coffeeboy

wrote a review

those were the days

5

when i get tired of lining up for isaw or waiting for the manong who sells warm monay rolls with quez-o cheese slices, and my mom sent me extra money, i go to Chocolate Kiss. when i was a freshie, i didn't understand what the whole hoopla was. some said chockiss (as me and my friends call it) was everything being a UPian was NOT about. apparently i never listened. in my stay in UP, i was a frequent diner at chockiss. be it in the ground floor or second floor, the feel and satisfaction i got was the same. my favorites are simple, not the complicated ones:

1. dayap cake - a far cry from the sweetness of the devil's food cake. kinda tangy but the taste lingers in my mouth much longer.

2. chix in a basket - i can forget about rice when i order this. the dip is garlic-y, but is perfect for both chicken fingers AND fries.

3. iced tea - i thought twice about the honey bit, but it tastes better with honey. :)

4. piano nights - the setting is not that formal, but listening to someone playing the piano while dining is a nice experience

i've seen different groups of people drop by: college students, families, lunch/business meetings, etc, but i believe that chockiss can be for everyone. mcdonald's and jolibee can be too generic most of the time.

i miss chockiss. and the moments i spent there. i'll drop by one of these days. :)

5 years ago

takawmode

wrote a review

Cockroach in my iced tea!

2

My family and I went to Chocolate Kiss to celebrate my mom's birthday. I called them 2 days in advance to reserve a table. I informed them that it was for my mom's birthday and asked if they can do something special for my mom. They said they'll give her a piece of cake and sing her a happy birthday. The usual stuff restos do. So we went there and ordered food. The food was okay and the waiters were attentive to us. I was surprised though when I saw a baby cockroach in my iced tea! The bad thing is, I already finished most of it! Yuck! My sister also found an insect in her drinking water, by the way. At first the waiter just offered us another glass of iced tea but ofcourse we didn't want anymore of their iced teas. So we talked to their head waiter and he apologized and offered to cancel the iced teas in our bill. And as for the cake and birthday song they promised? It never came.

5 years ago

kate77

wrote a review

Can't Get Enough!!!

4

The hole in the wall that never fails to disappoint. From appetizer to dessert, Chocolate Kiss is surely a foodie haven. A typical wapakkk set is composed of: pasta (red pesto is a winner as well as the eggplant parmigiana), or if you like rice (kalbi chim is a must), their house tea is an experience (you have to pour in honey to match the sweetness you need) and then cap the meal with a CAKE -- my favorite is the trio but will also settle for cheesecake or the one with rum. bogchi talaga! the wait staff is so patient. we were around 15 at that time. imagine how the orders poured in. i'm always looking forward for the next visit.

5 years ago

big-appetite

wrote a review

Why I love Chocolate Kiss...

4

Chocolate Kiss has been a favorite of mine since they opened years ago... This cafe is located inside the UP campus, in Bahay ng Alumni. They occupy a space at the ground floor and at the 2nd floor. I see they have been slowly expanding since then...
*(wow... munchpunch, I’ve gone there many times but I didn't know they have a special menu exclusive only to g/f or the 2/f - thanks for the info!)

I've never been disappointed since the first time I tried it back in college days. Of course at first, when they were still starting out, it was considered the only 'matinong' (close to upscale dining) restaurant/cafe inside the campus; and only a handful of 'scholars' can afford to dine there... Professors, alumni and writers finally had a place to hangout and dine comfortably, who would complain right? So service wasn't why people go there nor was it of good standard as it is now.

From appetizer to dessert... food is good here. I love their fresh tomato soup, the pasta puttanesca, the eggplant parmigiana (I know... I love tomatoes!) They have a lot of desserts to choose from. The breakfast meals are a great way to replenish those burned calories after a morning jog.

*This you should try at least once - go for a morning jog at the field beside Bahay ng Alumni – breathe the closest to fresh air you can get in the city. And as you run, feel the rush of air and let it brush against your skin, seeing the green field and blue sky in a blur... a moment of transcendence...and a satisfying healthy feeling to prepare you for the day isn't it?

What better way to cap it off than a hearty breakfast and a cup of freshly brewed coffee! This is why, on top of being a good cafe, I love and will keep going back to Chocolate Kiss.

*By the way, when you order coffee, don't be shy to ask for that 2nd fill! ;D

6 years ago

big-appetite

wrote a review

Why 4-stars for ambiance?

4

G/F Dining:
Despite the simple but comfortable interior and furnishing of its ground level cafe, the over-all feeling of serenity being near wide-open green fields & dining in this campus cafe are what makes this place's ambiance special.

2/F Dining:
The 2nd level (which has a separate entrance) for me is a similarly good place to dine any time of the day, but if you find yourself having dinner in this UP cafe. I find it a more ideal space 'coz in the inner part of this restaurant, there houses a piano and it's walls are decorated with paintings. You can catch their pianist perform while enjoying your dinner.

6 years ago

urpigoutpotnah

wrote a review

first kiss

3

the place is small but the food's great! i tried puttanesca which was flavorful.. chicken ala kiev was very good.. don't forget to try their well known iced tea! sooo good you'll forget about the narrow walkways in between the tables!

6 years ago

Fatz

wrote a review

The Kiss Club Sandwich

4

Definitley.... Heaven! Kiss Club sandwich from Chocolate Kiss Cafe located at 91-A Roces Avenue in Quezon City and also in Bahay Alumni UP Diliman, QC, is a HIT!!! Three sandwiches in one: chicken asparagus, tuna, and German franks in a Home-baked bread, served with french fries with ranch dressing.... it'll surely make your visit worth it. We also tried Hungarian Sausage & Penne pasta,100% mouth-watering! Hungarian slices, sautéed with fresh tomatoes, bell peppers, and olive oil in penne pasta.... plus home-baked galic bread slices. My kids favorite.....Ensaymada topped with Quezo de Bola... yum yum! And my husband's bet... Chicken & Pork Adobo
marinated and cooked in soy sauce, vinegar and garlic, then flaked and fried until crispy. (ADSILOG...adobo flakes).

6 years ago

Profile

Type
International Casual Dining
Budget
P300 - 500
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th, F, Sa, Su: 7:00AM - 10:00PM
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?

FREE 15-day VIP Membership

Submit an updated menu
On The VIP Menu