The Goose Station

The Goose Station Taguig

G/F W Tower, 39th St. Fort Bonifacio, Taguig Metro Manila Philippines (02) 556-9068
The Goose Station 3.2 5 10 1
robctan

wrote a review

to ktaster

3

If you havent eaten in a Michelin rated restaurant, then you dont know what your talking about.

3 years ago

YoMama

wrote a review

Pleasant Surprise

4

Very, very pleasant experience for a degustacion menu at only 42 Euros. Best restaurant in country, even more so than the reason we came here.

4 years ago

maprusse

wrote a review

Oh well

1

I absolutely loved the chocolate candy bar. But that's all I remember about this one. So yeah, downright forgettable.

4 years ago

timmysan

wrote a review

NOPe

2

Not the place to go to when hungry. I am not understanding bakit expensive here. Wala namang ambiance. I had a headache pa after. Everything just had truffle oil. The steak was sous vide and just not good. But my girl loved their pretty beet salad.

4 years ago

DFatOne

wrote a review

Go All The Way!

4

First you have to find the place.

Then you need to set aside the whole evening. This is not fast food. Go with people you like to talk with as there will be lots of time in between courses to do just that.

And you have to realize that this will not be fiesta-style feasting. For the dense, the restaurant's name is a play on words.

It's worth it.

4 years ago

YumKring

wrote a review

Cant wait to try the signature menu

4

I visited last night with friends but not everyone opted to try the signature menu so we went ala carte. I got the Eggs benedict and the Duck Confit and can i say OMG! Ang sarap ng eggs benedict. Super ultra classy kicked up verison. 2 thumbs up for this one. :)

4 years ago

budlou

wrote a review

Im a Fan

4

Hello everyone. I guess i should start by displaying some credibility as to avoid getting my ass kicked like KTaster so here goes: I have worked in the restaurant industry in Manila, Spain, Germany and Sydney for a total of 15 years and now am semi - retired so i think would have a sense of what is good and bad, in a global perspective if you will. I am a self title gourmand who loves to eat and knows how to cook (a little). i have eaten in dozens of Michelin starred restaurants and i DO NOT gauge my gourmet prowess by "visiting foreign friends" (which is quite silly and ignorant).

Back to the topic at hand. I have always though Manila's dining scene to be old fashioned and un-exciting. With the birth of the goose station i feel now, finally, the manila scene is starting to become more sophisticated... I find the husband a beautiful wife team have pushed the envelope in local fine dining given the limited produce there is to work with in this country. Some points i have (sorry to tackle on points made by previous reviewers but i feel i have to defend the place against people not in the know if you know what i mean:

First of all, the Menu is not limited at all like Ktaster says. Its a degustation restaurant not TGI Fridays. The best restaurant ive eaten in (The Fench Laundry) only has 2 Menus.. one regular and one vegetarian. I think people who visit the goose station should go for the signature menu the first time and go for ala carte on the next visit (although i know they change menus quarterly)

In reference to Ying: The place seats 30 indeed but is not SMALL, the trend all around the world is smaller and smaller restaurant. In fact when i used to work in the Hotel industry mosthotels were ordered to shrink restaurants to about 25 - 40 seats... i think its just perfect. The noise could be a draw back but hey, noisy people means enjoying people i say.

Back to Ktaster: THe beet garden salad is pure genius. if you knoew what you were eating you'd realize that ornage, beets and goat cheese go well together. And im guessing your sister didnt order the tasting menu because she only had salad.. DUH!!! Helloo! Degustation restaurant mean anything to you guys? Again, its not TGI fridays (no offense to Fridays, i love their burgers and fries)

For all those intersted i do suggest you go for the signature menu. I noticed in one of the Blogs Ying posted one mentioned it was better then Robuchon... although i would say that would be quite a stretch as beating the chef of the century i would say these two are definitely on their way to being as good as the world's (or at least Asia's) best and most contemporary and exciting to dine.

Cheers!

PS: Dinners like these in Europe: 150 - 300 Euros, In Australia: 100 - 200 AUSD and in the states: 100 - 200 USD.... PhP2,500 = 50USD is a steal!

4 years ago

ying

wrote a review

Finally, something world class in Manila

4

I disagree with the last post. Seems to me like this Ktaster is stuck in the 90's and her foreigner friends probably think mcDonalds is a fine dining restaurant (peace). The Goose Station is modern, flavors a bright, dishes are original and menu is just the right size for a seasonal menu. ... but most of all they have identity padre! Anyway here are some notes on them from others more credible then K-swiss eater:

http://thefashpack.blogspot.com/2010/03/lets-eat-goose-station.html

http://www.unlawyer.net/?p=3054

http://eyeonwine.blogspot.com/2009/12/alabang-group-xmas-dinner-2009-goose.html

http://www.ourawesomeplanet.com/awesome/2009/11/the-goose-station.html#more

THe only drawback to the place is thats its small, about 30 seats so it can get crowded and noisy... although pricey if you know what your getting you wont find it unreasonable.

4 years ago

ktaster

wrote a review

get better- please.

2

Let me begin by saying that i am no chef but having to eat out a lot with our foreign visitors, I guess I can say i have a pretty well-rounded sense of what's good and what's not.

In looking for a new place to try out for my dad's birthday, a friend of my sister recommended this resto. From the street parking, this restaurant looked pretty enticing so in we went! Ambiance and interiors were not anything unique but still, it served the right mood- cozy, perfectly lit with a shower of light in the semi-show kitchen area where the husband and wife team/owners were working.

It is quite a pricey restaurant but hey, as long as it is commensurate with the quality of the food and service, i don't mind. Sadly, in this case, it just wasn't. The food selection was quite limited. Items in the set menu, express menu, and a la carte were pretty much all in the same. Set menu cost P2,500 (vat incl.) and for the express menu, it's P1,700 (vat incl.). When somebody ordered the beet garden, i almost started to laugh thinking that it was a joke as they laid it out on the table. My future sister-in-law actually ordered this as she is undergoing a "diet". Sad to say, in this restaurant, you simply cannot order a "salad" and think this would be your "light dinner". Imagine this as the very first dish: minute pieces of a carrot, watermelon, beet, etc, just randomly scattered around a white plate. I have never seen an appetizer served this way before in what seems to be in random order and in such tiny-tiny (i seem to cant emphasize this enough) pieces. I would not suggest you order this as an a la carte item as it would not be worth the price of P300+. Just a quick run down on what i ordered under the express menu: squash soup- this was pretty good; salmon gravlax- nothing i haven't tasted before; eggs benedict- ooohh this gives this highly regarded dish a bad name- nothing beats the eggs benedict in bizu; fideua negra (seared scallop, angulas, tomato, etc.)- the 2 pcs of scallops served were delicious and the rest of it was just very plain and ordinary. For desserts: chocolate candy bar- which was pretty good especially the crunchy bottom layer; bread pudding- this was pretty good but the one in Heat of Edsa Shangri La Hotel is a lot better.

One other disappointment for the night, the restaurant was warm- too warm! They need to add in another ACU.

I hope that husband/wife duo would spice up their menu list a bit more and come up with something more memorable, something more unique that can be justified with their price level.

4 years ago

Profile

Type
French Casual Dining
Budget
P500 - 800
Hours
  • M, T, W, Th, F: 12:00PM - 1:30PM
  • M, T, W, Th, F, Sa: 6:00PM - 9:30PM
Incorrect or missing info?
Show more info
Incorrect or missing info?

FREE 15-day VIP Membership

Submit an updated menu
On The VIP Menu